The Seering –by Izaakmak

This is the first semi-sci-fi article submitted here and I think it’s worth a read:

After a weekend where four separate murders have been reported here in the city I call home, including one where the victim was robbed after being left for dead by his assailant, I’m reminded of an issue I’ve struggled with for many years. Being a person with a known proclivity for dwelling on the imponderable, I’ve been thinking about two things written in the bible since I first learned of them as a child:

1. After the flood during Noah’s time, God promised that the earth and everything living on it would never again be destroyed by a flood. Of course there are many who would argue that His wrath could still rain down upon us in other forms, but since we are taught that he sent Jesus to save us from ourselves, we must assume that the “never again be destroyed” part was very important to Him.

2. While dying on the cross, Jesus prays for God to “forgive them, for they know not what they do.” His prayer implies both that he feared the manner of his death would cause God to violate his promise to Noah, and that, in spite of overwhelming evidence to the contrary, we are too stupid to recognize our own guilt.

Now if you’ve read much of this blog, you’re probably aware that I have many, many problems with religion as a whole, including the Baptist variation of Christianity that I was raised to believe in. And also, being the perversely creative yet vindictive S.O.B. that I am, you probably wouldn’t be surprised that I’ve spent a wee bit of time pondering just how I would go about testing Jesus’ faith in our ignorance – and then provide us with our well deserved punishment when we fail – without the need for God to violate his promise.

What I came up with is roughly described in this little work of fiction I call:

~ The Seering ~

I can’t help about the shape I’m in
I can’t sing, I ain’t pretty and my legs are thin
But don’t ask me what I think of you
I might not give the answer that you want me to

Oh well

Now, when I talked to God I knew he’d understand
He said, “Stick by me and I’ll be your guiding hand
But don’t ask me what I think of you
I might not give the answer that you want me to”

Oh well

~ Fleetwood Mac ~

Admin -the fiction part:

January 4, 2010: This just in: There are unconfirmed reports of a mysterious “virus” spreading through some areas of the American mid-west. The reports indicate that this virus causes those infected to suddenly be able to “hear” the thoughts of those around them. While those we’ve contacted in the medical and scientific communities are skeptical about the existence of such a virus, we are nevertheless getting reports from these same areas of unexpected, violent attacks aimed at individuals the attacker claims to have “overheard” having thoughts the attacker found to be offensive. We will keep you updated on what we’re sure will turn out to be yet another of those “End Of The World” hoaxes.

January 6, 2010: The U.S. government has issued a statement today pleading for calm in the wake of the spreading violence associated with the belief that there is a “virus” on the loose causing people to suddenly be able to hear the thoughts of those around them. Although experts seem to think that this is merely some form of mass hysteria similar to that surrounding the “Y2K” event of over a decade ago, a scientific task force is nevertheless being set up to investigate. It’s uncertain as to how fast this task force can get to the bottom of what’s happening however, as it appears that everyone associated with the outbreak, including those sent to investigate by local news outlets, are now refusing to be approached. Stay tuned for further updates.

January 10, 2010: While scientific experts are still scrambling for an explanation for what has come to be known as “The Seering,” the existence of this new phenomena can no longer be denied. As evidence for the spread of this new “disease” comes in from more and more locations around the world, the mounting death toll is approaching a level that rivals the worst natural disasters in human history. While I don’t want to add to the fear and panic already gripping the world, the fact that gathering further information from the places where the disease has already struck seems next to impossible doesn’t exactly inspire hope that a solution will be coming any time soon. We will continue to bring you updates for as long as we can hold out… (static)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Pink Floyd – Run Like Hell

Run, run, run, run
Run, run, run, run
Run, run, run, run
Run, run, run, run

You better make your face up in your favourite disguise
With your button down lips and your roller blind eyes
With your empty smile and your hungry heart
Feel the bile rising from your guilty past
With your nerves in tatters when the cockleshell shatters
And the hammers batter down the door
You better run

Run, run, run, run
Run, run, run, run
Run, run, run, run
Run, run, run, run

You better run all day and run all night
And keep your dirty feelings deep inside
And if you’re takin’ your girlfriend out tonight
You better park the car well out of sight
‘Cos if they catch you in the back seat tryin’ to pick her locks
They’re gonna send you back to mother in a cardboard box
You better run

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

January 1, 2020: Well, it’s been 10 years since mankind was struck with The Seering pandemic, and although it ran it’s course in less than 6 months time, it cost the lives of nearly 90% of the worlds population and has taken all of the time since it ended for us to reach anything like a genuine recovery. While no one truly knows if the pandemic was man-made, a freak of nature, or divine retribution, mankind has nevertheless been dramatically moved by the experience. For now at least, the global society we live in will not tolerate the lies and deceit that had left us so vulnerable to destruction at our own hands. And this reporter, for one, prays that we remain steadfast in that resolve.

Note: In case any thinks this idea was inspired by the new Flash Forward series on TV, you’ll find that I wrote about my idea back in Me No Know KeyMoSobbi – Part 2 – Item 3. But I’ve been thinking about it for a long time.

I want ice water.

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Seering –by Izaakmak

  1. izaakmak says:

    Thanks, Poch, for reposting this piece. Once again, I am both honored and humbled by your doing so.

What do you think?

