The Fragile Health Triangle

I was awakened this morning at 7 by the noise of a nearby children’s school having a program -the microphone was louder than the children! At first, I got irritated because I slept late at 3am drafting articles. Later when the teacher started talking about health, I became interested when she said that being healthy doesn’t only mean absence of disease. Then, she mentioned the World Health Organization’s definition of health as being “a state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity”. I will illustrate how fragile this Health Triangle can be. The mention of the words social well-being started me thinking:’so if a person cannot be socially healthy because of negative home environment, it would follow that his mental health will suffer too. Then if his mental health suffers, then surely his physical health will suffer too’! What a spiral. So that’s how fragile personal health can be. It’s like saying ‘When my toe hurts, my whole body suffers’, which of course is true. So the gist is: Having a peaceful home environment is VERY IMPORTANT. Which, unfortunately, isn’t my case. I can even say that I live in a den of snakes.

You see, in our compound, there is a thief that has struck four times.
And the thief is evidently a close friend or a relative; the thief only robs one thing at one time, not all valuables at one time.
What if I catch the thief and violence ensues? My mother has hypertension. She might suffer a stroke and even die. So revenge and counter-revenge follows, which could now be called a clan war. See what petty theft could spark in a negative environment? I even have a neighbor who boasts that he isn’t afraid of police. Maybe he isn’t afraid of the army and the feds too. Any takers? I’m near taking on his challenge. A cop should do that first. -pochp 11/ 20/ 09

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in health, philosophy, Society and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

