Centerfield -by Gryphon

Just the philosophical intro of this post poked me into reposting it -Poch:

I’m convinced that there are no such things as “beginnings.”

Everything is just a continuation of the same process.

I am fooled sometimes into thinking that I am starting a new path by peaks and anti-peaks. When one episode reaches either an explosive or a fizzled end, then I believed that a new path began.

Not anymore.

It has been raining for two days.

My personal mountain stream is babbling merrily in the gloom and through my door yard.

I light another cigarette and type my thoughts.

“Jessica” is playing on the iTunes. God bless Greg Allman and Steve Jobs

“Sounds of Silence” preceded. Remember Teen Angst? God bless naivete.

Give me Van Morrison, Muddy Waters, J.S. Bach, Ian Anderson, Ricard Wagner.

The brothers George; Harrison, Jones and Gershwin. Antonio and Charlie–Vivaldi and Parker.

Them too. And a bunch of others. Don’t forget Leon Redbone please.

Sing my life to me, and I will sing along. By myself.

Solo A Capella.

Put Simon and Garfunkel on the bottom shelf along with a seriously misguided second decade.

Five is too many and not nearly enough.

Start packing. Turn the page. It is not the end of the story yet. I can tell because the sentence does not end at the bottom of the page, but I am only given one page at a time.

Put me in coach. I’m ready to play. Today.

Look at me, I can be

Centerfield.

I’ll be back.

Hopefully.

gryphon

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Centerfield -by Gryphon

  1. pochp says:

    I think your theory supports the adage,
    ‘History repeats itself’. Ergo, no beginnings. Just a cycle.

  2. Gryphon says:

    Reference the comment in the comments section to this post in the Aerie. My life (and I believe the lives of others) is not a collection of short stories but rather a novel. In my case it is the story of a Man Named Gryphon. It is broken up into various chapters denoting different epochs within the one story. Each epoch depends in some way upon what came before. Nothing comes to an end until the subject comes to an end and even then may continue albeit in a muted way.

    Consider History. At the end of each war or revolution (industrial, agricultural, information, etc), we don’t begin all over again. Instead what came before will shape in some way, for better or worse what is happening now and what will happen in the future. Until the end of History that is . . .

  3. pochp says:

    I’m still thinking about your intro Gryph.

What do you think?

