Blind Faith -by Heart

What can I say? Right now, I am overwhelmed and I need some time to rethink my life.. Really!!
If the following essay says something about my self confidence, well, so be it.. 🙂

I am watching a show on TV where 18 blind people are competing for the best singer award..

I am so inspired by all these visually impaired people, who in spite of having these physical limitations, have reached this stage in life..

What drives a person to achieve something in the face of insurmountable obstacles.. ??

If life’s a challenge every single day you live, how do you gather courage and perseverance to do something other than get by your regular daily chores..

Who is the inspiration? Is it true that if there is something lacking in your life, you make it up by doing something extraordinary in another department..

Love is said to be the best motivation of all.. Is it their parents’ unrelenting support and belief in their physically challenged kids that brings the best out of them..??

With my eye sight OK and a visual comprehension of life around me, I sometimes fail to understand the most simplest of happenings in life..

And to not only understand the tangible world with all its complexities, the visually challenged have to process it all in their heads in their own way through music and sound.. Unthinkable!

A blind person achieving the unthinkable makes you see darkness in a whole new different light.. !

I write this to honor all the physically challenged people, who make this world an extraordinary place to live in.. Where people with no perceivable personal challenges should be humbled for having been created a little more perfect than the ones who are not.. Or are they??
http://aconnectiontomyheart.wordpress.com/2008/12/27/blind-faith/

Updated on Nov 5th, 2010: Please read this motivating piece by a fellow blogger, Pocholo Peralta:

http://www.articlesbase.com/self-improvement-articles/achievers-who-defied-great-handicaps-2918108.html

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blind Faith -by Heart

  1. pochp says:

    Hi Lori. You’re not wasting your time reading, remember that.
    Someday, what you write will come from what you read as if reading
    was an investment. At least your not on the wrong track and that’s
    what’s important. Get a copy of the book Reading Like a Writer if you can
    and you’ll see what I mean.

  2. lori78 says:

    Heart – This is a good piece! Keep on writing!

    Poch -I wish I could follow this advice sooner. I mostly observed too. The problem with me is I spend what spare time I have reading.

  3. pochp says:

    Hey Heart,
    Only a very few ‘credible’ writers write with their experiences.
    I myself write mostly out of observations so take heart and go on 🙂

  4. Heart says:

    Pocholo, thanks for thinking of this as worthy of reblogging, it means a lot!! Your blog looks like it can be a haven for budding short story writers, maybe you should start a campaign for writing and draw writers to this corner! May be this will be the next NaNo!
    🙂 I will get back to read more, thanks!!
    Rachana

    • pochp says:

      Just tell me if you want to post here -you’re always welcome. Thanks!

    • pochp says:

      And btw, now that you’ve mentioned haven for budding short story writers,
      I remembered one of my earliest guest poster -a young teener whose aim is to finish his crime fic NOVEL before the schoolyear ends. I know he’ll probably make it because I saw the starting part of his MS -thousands of words!
      The advice I gave him is to spend most time on the mean streets if he really wants to be an ace crime writer but added that I wish he wouldn’t follow my advice because it might cost him his life. I was so glad when he cheerfully said he wouldn’t follow it.

      • Heart says:

        See that is what I struggle with, will I be a credible writer if I wrote out of observations and not actually have experienced what I write as stories for others to read!!

What do you think?

