The Problem with a Foreign Blog’s Popularity

Blog of the day once again

Blog of the day once again (Photo credit: the Italian voice)

Why bloggers like me couldn’t expect their blogs to maximally get traffic

It’s not really a problem. Just a statistic problem. You see, my main blog Plato on-line is more popular in other countries and my local visitors account for less than 10% only (more than 50% of my visitors come from the US alone). That is why I’m very grateful to my few but loyal local followers. Why does that happen? Two reasons:
– The local audience isn’t interested in what I write about
– Of course local blogs will get more visitors from friends and relatives. Foreign bloggers will always have fewer friends and relatives abroad. Therefore, foreign blogs get less visitors

A very stark example of that. My Canadian blogging friend Amy got inspired to write about my post “Computer and Sitting a Deadly Combination” in her post “Honestly – How Long Are You In Front Of The Computer?”. Of course I was curious how much traffic her post would get and subscribed to the comments. 73 comments flooded my inbox so far. And not one of those visitors cited me or my blog! (Ironically, Amy is my best commenter)

That is not a complaint. I only mentioned that so my explanation would be clearer. Now here is an excerpt and link from Amy’s post:

‘Some time ago, I discovered a new friend, Poch Peralta, whose blog is Plato-On-Line. Poch blogs professionally and often links articles showcasing key subjects of interest – including ones relating, directly and indirectly, to life around computers. Thanks, Poch, for placing the Philippines’ flag on my little world map.

‘Besides kindly sharing his blog’s software winnings with me one time, he shares IT insights, evaluations of new software and hardware products and links to various helpful articles – especially about computerization.

‘However. One of his recent contributions has shaken my world. His headliner was “Computer and Sitting a Deadly Combination”…’
http://souldipper.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/honestly-how-long-are-you-in-front-of-the-computer/

About DigitalPlato

Poch is a Bookrix author and a freelance writer. He is a frequent contributor to TED Conversations.
This entry was posted in blogging, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Problem with a Foreign Blog’s Popularity

  1. pochp says:

    ‘I can see 8 people checked the link to you…that is the most I’ve ever seen. Congrats!’
    How did you do that Amy? Anyway, I have you to thank for that. And I know you have no ulterior motive in commenting at my site.

    ‘For some reason it seems that Americans are the best responders for all of us.’
    That indicates the intelligence of the American readers. Most read only content that are useful or meaningful. By the way, Canada is always on the top 3 in my stats, mostly number 2. Thanks Amy.

  2. souldipper says:

    I agree, statistics present an interesting question mark, Poch.

    I watch how many readers bother to link over to the blog that is named, highlighted and linked in one of my posts. Very seldom do readers actually go and check out a link, I’m sad to say. I can see 8 people checked the link to you…that is the most I’ve ever seen. Congrats!

    I have wondered how many people quickly scan or speed read blogs sufficient to make a comment. We learn quickly that if we don’t comment on other blogs, our numbers will likely not grow. In my opinion, we find each other more through comments than any other way.

    With Plato on-Line, I have no ulterior motive in commenting. I simply like to respond to some of the subjects you spotlight.

    Then, we reach a stage where we have too many blogs to read! Also, one fellow who writes humour has been Fresh Pressed twice – and by his accounts, it’s overwhelming. He was happy when it all settled down again to the usual numbers.

    I’ve learned that many bloggers do not have a rash of family and friends reading their blogs. I guess it’s true that we cannot be a prophet in our own land. For some reason it seems that Americans are the best responders for all of us. Even a young Indian friend finds he has mostly American readers. That’s surprising, comparing populations.

What do you think?

